Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: {done} Bellows and gimbal bearing replacement - first timer - Alpha One G2

{done} Bellows and gimbal bearing replacement - first timer - Alpha One G2 07 Aug 2017 14:48 #1

• BB_Mike
  • BB_Mike's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thank you received: 0
Edit 1. I am done. Many thanks to all who helped out. I will add my follow on thoughts in this post

Original post with answers to questions in itallics....
I'm an automotive mechanic, but a first time boat owner. Working on a 1992 Arriva, 21 foot, bow rider ski boat with a Mercruiser Alpha One behind a Mercruiser 5.7L

I have watched several Youtube video and think I can handle the job - from a skills standpoint. With Youtube and Amazon, anything is possible. haha.
If you all wouldn't mind helping with the following questions, I'd appreciate it.
Outdrive Serial Number 0D757100 So it's an Alpha 1 Gen 2

1) Brands of kits. Should I order Mercruiser or is a particular off-brand just as good?
Amazon bellows kit
Answer: Mercruiser = Quicksilver = a great kit. I was told Sierra is a close 2nd, but if you are a novice and doing this yourself to safe money, youc an splurge for the Merruiser kit and still be ahead. I paid $188 and got it from Michigan Motorz.

2) With it being an alpha one should I order the impeller?
Answer: I did order the water impeller, but I did not install it. For three reasons: 1) The engine cools well. 2) If your boat's exhaust goes through the bellows and out the out-drive, then the heat from it causes short life spans for the impella. My boat has through hull exhaust. 3) The out drive oil drained out a very nice color, so I didn't want to introduce a new problem. Pulling the outdrive at a later date is an additional 15 minutes of work for me now. no biggy.

3) Gimbal bearing install. Can I smack it in with a 2x4?