• Page:

TOPIC: Portable Generator issue.

Portable Generator issue. 17 Jun 2017 03:07 #1

• joe440
  • joe440's Avatar Topic Author
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thank you received: 46
I've been using a Honda 2000 for a few years on my old boat (2455). I'm out on my first trip on the hook. I fired up the gen and the Admiral tried using the electric kettle and the gen kicked out.
Thie new boat has a zantrex 2000 watt combo inverter with battery charger. The problem is the battery charger is charging at a high rate and I'm unable to use some high load devices. Is there a way to turn off the battery charger or inverter until I'm finished using the high load devices ?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1989 3288
"Defiant"
5.7 L gas powered

2003 Yamaha FX Cruiser

MMSI 316 034 392
Last Edit: by joe440.

Portable Generator issue. 17 Jun 2017 13:23 #2

• Discovery
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thank you received: 43
I have a diffrent brand of inverter, but it has a remote control box that allows me to adjust settings. From the remote control box I can turn the rate of charge up or down as needed, which increases or decreases the load on my Honda 2000. I generally turn it up when nobody is around and I'm off the boat, but turn it down when others are around or we want it quieter.

Yellowknife, NT. Canada
2002 cierra 3055
twin 350 mags mpi FWC w/B2

Portable Generator issue. 17 Jun 2017 14:18 #3

• Pcpete
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 275