Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: Portable Generator

Portable Generator 22 May 2017 08:26 #1

• melmartin
  • melmartin's Avatar Topic Author
  • Mel & Pauline Martin
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi all. Being a newbie I have only been on short day trips around our lake but am planning on spending a few nights on board. I have bought a small portable generator which I intend fitting on the swim platform for when I am moored up on the lake to run the tv and lights. Am I right in assuming I can plug the generator with the correct lead into the shoreline power socket on the boat?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Mel & Pauline Martin
Scottish Borders U.K
Bayliner 2455 Ciera Sunbridge "Sweet Pea"
Kielder Yacht Club
Kielder Northumberland

Portable Generator 22 May 2017 09:33 #2

• diveguy
  • Away
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • St.Margarets Bay, NS
  • Thank you received: 157
Yes. You'll need an adapter to plug the the shore power into the gen. What size gen are thinking of getting? I have a 2000 watt Champion inverter that works well and didn't break the bank. It will run the microwave which is nice.
The following user(s) said Thank You: melmartin

"Martini's Law"
1986 Bayliner 3270, 110 Hino's
Nova Scotia, Canada

Portable Generator 22 May 2017 09:45 #3

• melmartin
  • melmartin's Avatar Topic Author
  • Mel & Pauline Martin
  • Thank you received: 0
It's just a small 1,000 watt but it's only to run the tv and lights when I'm moored on the lake.

Mel & Pauline Martin
Scottish Borders U.K
Bayliner 2455 Ciera Sunbridge "Sweet Pea"
Kielder Yacht Club
Kielder Northumberland

Portable Generator 22 May 2017 12:36 #4

• smitty477
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank you received: 938
If you are new to portable gensets and/or this type of boating please be very careful of electrocution and Co emissions.