Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: I made a mistake and am looking for a solution... please take a minute and read

I made a mistake and am looking for a solution... please take a minute and read 18 May 2017 01:21 #1

• Andover_Ct
  • Andover_Ct's Avatar Topic Author
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • 860-978-9039
  • Thank you received: 45
Hello everyone,
let me start by saying this forum has been very friendly and helpful... I do not consider myself an expert or even very good / excellent when it comes to boating. My navigation skills are nadda... I run up and down the same 45 miles of river and enjoy the coves and beaches and such... my mechanical skill set is above average and I was a marine technician for along time.

With that said I have made a rather large mistake / bad decision and figured I would come here to try and solve it....

The engine in my 2850 Contessa lost a cylinder due to bad valves... I tore it all apart and left it... boat was clean as a whistle and very very nice.... while contemplating what to due I walked into a deal for a '93 3058 Command bridge--- so what do I do... I sell the 2850 for what I paid for it and watched it head to Maine.

The 3058 I have delivered and its on stands.... almost as soon as it was set down I started saying "what did I do..." there's no trailer and there's 2 of everything and it its a lot more boat than the 2850...

So... after sitting and thinking and thinking and so on I have decided to sell it and hope that someone with more time and such can put it to full use. I wish I never sold the 2850... wish I had bought a new Michigan motor and kept on going with it...

My family is disappointed, I'm disappointed and just frustrated with myself for getting all excited and not looking at the big picture before making the move. Bigger isn't always better and realizing your limitations is something we all need to consider.